What I Learned From Professional Engineers

Through my high school years, I was a part of my school’s FIRST Robotics Competition team. I was a member for three years and it was the greatest decision I ever made in my high school career.

Because of this program, I was around professional engineers almost 24/7. I learned so many valuable things from my mentors about being professional that I will use forever. Here are the top 3 things I learned from professional engineers that everyone can apply to any aspect of their life.

1. Participation

Something that my main mentor in high school would always tell me was, “80% of the work is just showing up”. This has become my motto. Every time a situation would make me anxious, I would always remember that the best thing you can do to learn and achieve is to participate. This goes for any career or aspect of life. Don’t miss out on an opportunity because of the fear of failing.

2. Never Stop Learning

After getting a degree in something, that’s not where the learning should end. ECN published an article, written by Sasha Gurke, titled: “5 Tips For Young Engineers (From the Experienced Engineers)“. In this article, Gurke said that a “continual stream of learning for young engineers [and career seeking individuals] is required for success”. According to Gurke, a career will require constant education and reeducation. The learning should never stop.

3. Have Integrity in Everything

David C. Wisler from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers published an article with tips for early career seeking engineers. One of the most important tips Wisler shared was “putting integrity first”. While working at a large company, it is “essential to maintain high integrity throughout your career”, said Wisler. Every young adult seeking a professional career “must exercise unyielding integrity and do your best” in everything you do. There should be no excuse to sacrifice integrity.

Leave a Reply

